Mary Kline Memorial Game Set For May 5th

Mary Kline Memorial Game Set For May 5th

Reporter Mike Sullivan provides some information on a very important event to be held in the early part of May, an all star game whose funds will help in cancer research ...

Alex Kline is an impressive young man. Only a teenager, he has spurted onto the recruiting scene giving fans and coaches important basketball information.

However, Alex has taken it to a more important level. He has worked hard to produce one of the best high school all star games -- and help raise funds for cancer research.

Here is some of the information if you're interested in either attending or making a donation.

The roster for the 2012 Mary Kline Classic event is in the process of being announced with spots being filled every week. A charity high school basketball all-star game that features some of the top talent around the east coast is in its second year as Alex Kline will host the event at the Pennington School in New Jersey again. The official date for the spring event is Saturday, May 5th at 5PM. Admission costs $10 and will be donated to charity. Donations of a larger amount would be very generous, as well.

The newest change to the Mary Kline Classic is that it will feature two games this year, along with the dunk and three-point contest. The games will be reduced from two twenty minute halfs to four eight minute quarters. The first game will be the underclassmen game, which features freshmen, sophomores, and juniors from the classes of 2015, 2014, and 2013. On top of that, the senior game will feature some of the top talent from the class of 2012.

There are twelve 2011 Mary Kline Classic alumni currently playing division one college basketball. They are Jordan Allen of Hofstra, Khem Birch and John Johnson of Pittsburgh, Angel Nunez of Louisville, Jabril Trawick of Georgetown, Chandler Fraser-Pauls of Lafayette, Khalid Lewis of Delaware, Devin Coleman of Clemson, Tyler Harris of NC State, Isaiah Williams of Marshall, Will Wise of UMBC and Jerrell Wright of La Salle.

In the inaugural event, it was the Black team who defeated the Red team by a score of 110-87. Jabril Trawick and Jerrell Wright were named Co-MVP of the game, while Trawick won the slam dunk contest and Isaiah Williams won the three-point shootout.

There will be a total of 48 invites to the 2012 Mary Kline Classic. Recommended Stories

Up Next breaks down Friday's quarterfinal matchup between SLU and La Salle in Atlantic…


1 Fans online
    Join The Conversation